Crown Nominations Commission

Following the earlier announcement of the retirement of the Rt Rev Peter Eagles, Bishop of Sodor and Man from the 31 October 2023 the process to seek who will be the next Bishop has continued apace. The Vacancy in See Committee of the Diocese has met on a number of occasions over the past few months and has considered input from a number of sources, including for the first time, public consultation.

In their final meeting at the beginning of September the committee member signed off on the Statement of Needs to be taken forward to the next stage and also elected six members to the Crown Nominations Commission who will meet at Bishopthtorpe, York under the Chair of the Archbishop of York in January and March 2024 when shortlisting and interviews will take place.

The Statement of needs is available as a PDF on the following link:

The six nominated members from the vacancy in See Committee are:

  • Nigel Godfrey
  • Jeanette Hamer
  • Alex Brown
  • Marilyn Payne
  • Tim Grass
  • Rosemary Clarke